• CAPRISA eThekwini team receives recognition

    CAPRISA’s MTN 025 team at the eThekwini Research Clinic received the MTN award titled “From ASPIRE to HOPE”, for the timeous and efficient implementation of HOPE (MTN 025). This award was presented to the team by the MTN Co-Principal Investigators Jared Baeten and Sharon Hillier.  The CAPRISA eThekwini site was one of only two teams to be acknowledged at this meeting.

    (L-R): Jared Baeten, Kalendri Naicker, Leila Mansoor & Sharon Hillier



    Share this article


Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa

CAPRISA was created in 2001 and formally established in 2002 under the NIH-funded Comprehensive International Program of Research on AIDS (CIPRA) by five partner institutions; University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Cape Town, University of Western Cape, National Institute for Communicable Diseases, and Columbia University in New York. CAPRISA is a designated UNAIDS Collaborating Centre for HIV Prevention Research. The main goal of CAPRISA is to undertake globally relevant and locally responsive research that contributes to understanding HIV pathogenesis, prevention and epidemiology as well as the links between tuberculosis and AIDS care.