• Prof Quarraisha Abdool Karim receives the prestigious 2018 Ward Cates Spirit award

    ‘for her outstanding commitment and leadership to health as a right, internationally and domestically” …

    The prestigious 2018 Ward Cates Spirit award was presented to Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim, Associate Scientific Director of CAPRISA at the Annual HIV Prevention Trials Network (HPTN) meeting held in Washington, by Dr Anthony Fauci, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases; Dr Myron Cohen and Dr Wafaa El-Sadr, co-Chairs of he HPTN.  Abdool Karim, the first female recipient of the award, was recognised for her ‘outstanding commitment and leadership to health as a right, internationally and domestically; scientific excellence and her magnanimity in mentorship and support.’

    The Ward Cates Spirit award honours the rich scientific legacy of the late Ward Cates, Distinguished Scientist and President Emeritus of FHI 360, that spanned over 40 years. During his distinguished career Cates served in senior positions at the CDC and FHI 360. Significantly Ward Cates, as President of FHI360 and previous Chair of HIVNET and HPTN  was a long-time collaborator, colleague and dear friend of Slim and Quarraisha Abdool Karim and played a pivotal role in the CAPRISA 004 trial.

    The HPTN leadership established the Ward Cates Spirit Award in recognition of Cate’s commitment and numerous contributions to the field of HIV/AIDS prevention, international family planning, and women’s health.  The award is presented annually to a Network member who has similarly exhibited outstanding contributions towards HPTN's mission through his or her leadership, mentoring, cheerleading, and public health advocacy.

    Abdool Karim is the third recipient of the award and joins eminent scientists, Dr Ken Mayer, Director of the Fenway Institute and Dr Sten Vermund Dean, of the Yale School of Public Health who received the award in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

    Photo: At the presentation of the award: (L-R): Dr Wafaa El-Sadr and Dr Myron Cohen co-Chairs of the HPTN, Prof Quarraisha Abdool Karim, Associate Scientific Director CAPRISA, and Dr Anthony Fauci, Director, NIAID, at the NIH.




    Share this article


Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa

CAPRISA was created in 2001 and formally established in 2002 under the NIH-funded Comprehensive International Program of Research on AIDS (CIPRA) by five partner institutions; University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Cape Town, University of Western Cape, National Institute for Communicable Diseases, and Columbia University in New York. CAPRISA is a designated UNAIDS Collaborating Centre for HIV Prevention Research. The main goal of CAPRISA is to undertake globally relevant and locally responsive research that contributes to understanding HIV pathogenesis, prevention and epidemiology as well as the links between tuberculosis and AIDS care.