Allan Rosenfield Alumni Award for Excellence
- Columbia University Alumnus Association

President's Award
- Drug Information Association

 BHP Billiton Award for "Research leading to Innovation"
- South African National Science & Technology Forum (NSTF)
Distinguished Woman in Science Award in the Life, Natural and Engineering Sciences
- South African government Department of Science and Technology

Medicine Award - Fellowship in Art & Science of Medicine (Gold)  
- South African Medical Association

Outstanding Senior African Scientist Award
- European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnerships

Chancellor's Callabash Award for Outstanding Educator
-  University of South Africa (UNISA)
Inaugural Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and Technological Innovation
- African Academy of Sciences;

Science-for-Society Gold Medal Award
- Academy of Science in South Africa (ASSAf).


TWAS Prize in Medical Sciences
- The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)        


John F. W. Herschel Medal  
- Royal Society of South Africa

The Union Scientific Prize  
- International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease


Order of Mapungubwe
- Presidency of the Republic of South Africa

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award
- African Union

Annual Service Excellence Award
- KwaZulu-Natal Health
Mayor's Award for Excellence
- eThekwini Municipality

Lifetime Achievement Award
- HIV Congress 2014

Science- for- Society Gold Medal
- Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)

TWAS Lenovo Science Prize in Biological Sciences
- The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Gold Medal Scientific Achievement Award
- South African Medical Research Council (MRC)


African Union Kwame Nkrumah Continental Scientific Award
- African Union

Platinum Lifetime Achievement Award
- South African Medical Research Council


L’Oréal-UNESCO Women in Science Award
- L’Oréal Foundation and the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO)


Lifetime Achievement Awards
- Institute for Human Virology (IHV)

Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa

CAPRISA was created in 2001 and formally established in 2002 under the NIH-funded Comprehensive International Program of Research on AIDS (CIPRA) by five partner institutions; University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Cape Town, University of Western Cape, National Institute for Communicable Diseases, and Columbia University in New York. CAPRISA is a designated UNAIDS Collaborating Centre for HIV Prevention Research. The main goal of CAPRISA is to undertake globally relevant and locally responsive research that contributes to understanding HIV pathogenesis, prevention and epidemiology as well as the links between tuberculosis and AIDS care.